Sunlight playing with water

IMG_5710.jpg

Fuente de las Batallas, Granada (Spain)

One of those afternoons in Granada that I was walking with my camera at the ready, I happened to pass this square with the fountain. I was struck by the backlight illuminating the water and turning the passersby into silhouettes.

It was an image that left me with my mouth open and I nearly forgot to capture the scene. Luckily I came to my senses, so that I can show you the result of the sunlight playing with the spouting fountain. It is just like a B&W photo, isn’t it?

11 thoughts on “Sunlight playing with water

    • Dank je, Edward. Ik knipte op goed geluk, omdat tegenlicht altijd zo lastig is. Bij de eerste poging zag ik dat het wat kon worden, dus toen ben ik echt serieus bezig gegaan. Zonder die camera had ik er misschien niet eens bij stil gestaan (letterlijk).

      Like

    • Thank you! The effect of the sunlight in the water was enhanced by a light breeze that now and then passed over the square. Made the scene more impressive still.
      I saw that you recently posted about your trip to Spain. Are you still there, took more photos?

      Like

  1. This is amazing, I don’t know how you did it… it looks just like a B&W photo except you can still see the colours in the corners with the leaves of the trees. If you said you fiddled with it in Photoshop or similar, I’d still admire it but without it, I just can’t imagine how you could capture it like that! I wish I could do something like that…

    Like

  2. Thank you for your comment, you are very kind. This was a case of thinking ‘Backlight? What the heck! and shoot, just because I was impressed by the effects of the sunlight in the fountain.
    In the beginning I was a bit scared too to take pictures in the public sphere and get laughed at or to annoy people. But actually this is seldom the case. Just smile (for me not too difficult, as I am doing what I like) and people will smile back. Now I take many shots before I am satisfied with what I have done. What’s more, I feel that first you have to take the obvious photos before you can see beyond your object and spot what other people did not see. So I do not entirely agree with the adagio ‘Take your time’ (I read that on your blog). Whenever you see something that takes your breath away or you simply find interesting, shoot once, twice or a dozen times. That is the blessing of digital photography, you can always delete the pictures that are not what you hoped for.
    By the way, I like your blog. I am an avid reader also and just like you wetted many books in the bath tub!

    Like

Leave a Reply

