Mosaic (1)

IMG_5408During my stay in Granada I just had to go back to the Alhambra. When I lived near the site in the 1970s, I used to visit this treasure every Sunday afternoon when you could go in for free. Then I sat down on one of the walls or window sills and never opened the book I carried with me, because the view was so inspiring and always seemed new.

Things have changed, of course, and you can only look at the walls and window sills, touching them is strictly forbidden. Now there is no way of enjoying the architecture and the views in silence, as the crowds of tourists keep pouring in, chattering away and making V-signs while they are taking selfies on every thinkable (and unthinkable) spot.

Never mind, I spent six hours there drinking in the beauty of the place and waiting patiently in order to take my photos without people on them. This is the first picture of a series that I will show you over the next few weeks.

WordPress Photo Challenge: Heritage.

5 thoughts on “Mosaic (1)

  1. Now I remember that I was going to comment here 😉 Old age is sad sometime. Ha.
    I love this photo… actually all of your photos. It’s so simple and yet it is just beautiful. The color, shape… Just love it.
    Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good morning, Helen. Never mind, old age also has its advantages, as I am experiencing now. Simpler, maybe that is why I love to take photos that seem simple and yet are beautiful, because they sooth the eye and you can look at them again and again and enjoy them. I never really noticed it, but you pointed it out to me, so thank you very much! Have a nice day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

