Canal view

IMG_2593

Pottenkade, Dordrecht (Netherlands)

Although I had planned not to take too many postcard photos, I could not resist to take this shot when I was cycling past the canal. It was such a peaceful and beautiful scene. Well, I have to admit that I am in love with the old city centre.

On the left you see the former parsonage, now a quality restaurant, and a row of almshouses glued to the Old Church of which you can only descry a glimpse (I promise to take more pictures of this fabulous building later on).

It was at the end of this narrow quay that I took the photos of the Voorstraatshaven, painted by Willem Witsen, another lover of this part of the town. As a matter of fact, the houses on the right and the street behind it actually form a dyke in order to defend the rest of the city from the water.

My contribution to this week’s Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: All about Cities.

12 thoughts on “Canal view

Leave a Reply

